About Us

About the Commission

The Jefferson County Historical Commission was established in 1971 by an act of the Alabama Legislature. It is made up of twelve appointed members who serve without compensation. Board appointments are approved, and operational support provided by, the Birmingham Alabama City Commission and the Jefferson County Alabama Commission.

In addition to administering the Historic Marker Program, the Commission sponsors publications on Jefferson County history, presents an annual award (the Thomas Jefferson Award) to individuals and groups who have contributed to the understanding of local history or preservation, and works with other organizations and agencies to further the cause of historic preservation and the documentation and protection of the historic resources of the City of Birmingham and Jefferson County.

The Commission does not issue grants or provide funding for preservation or other projects.

Members of the Jefferson County Historical Commission
Carl H. Marbury, Ph.D., Chairman
Cathy C. Adams, Vice-Chair
Andre C. Natta, Treasurer
Michael E. Malone, Ph.D., Secretary
Linda Nelson, Executive Secretary